[ English | German ]

JAP and Crime Prevention

Log Files at the Anonymization Service

Providers of telecommunications services are required by law in Germany to retain already-obtained data for the purposes of crime prevention.

Retro-active Exposure of Connections through the Mix Cascades

A retro-active exposure is close to impossible. If someone wanted to uncover a certain connection after the fact, he would have to record all incoming and outgoing messages from all mixes in a cascade and present them for de-anonymization. This only makes sense so long the public key of a mix is valid. After a key change, not even the mix itself can decrypt old messages, since the private key is destroyed. This is not yet implemented in the current version, but even the mix operator himself cannot access the key that is temporarily stored in memory. How often the key is changed depends on the mix operator. In the final system, this could occur as often as every few hours.

Note: The German Telecommunications Act might require some Mixes to retain traffic data which could be used to easy retro-active exposure.

Surveillance of Future Connections through the Mix Cascades

Surveillance of future connections requires that every mix in a cascade record the incoming-outgoing relationship of a certain message online and in realtime. The connection to be exposed would be marked. The message could then be de-anonymized with the cooperation of all mixes. The marking of a message would have to be recognizable to all mixes involved in the surveillance. This functions similarly to trapping a phone line in the standard telephone network. It would thus be possible to log access to a certain website with this method.

The current version of the mix software contains a crime prevention function that allows this method. The surveillance of a connection requires the cooperation of all mix operators in a mix cascade and their activation of this function. Currently, a privacy-friendly surveillance method is being developed.

AN.ON Project's Experiences in the Area of Crime Prevention

Surveillance statistic 2006

In 2006, there has been only one single surveillance court order to single Mix operators. A few exactly specified web addresses were affected. The observation has been stopped after the court order expired (one month).

back

 

Download

Stable Version
00.20.001


Beta Version
00.20.002


InfoService

Status of available AN.ON services and information about them.


Aktuell / News

Restrictions for the Dresden (JAP) anonymisation servers
After careful consideration we have decided to restrict the size of downloads over the Dresden (JAP) mixes a little. The reason is to allow a more fair use of scarce resources of our servers especially for users who simply want to surf the Web. more...

 

 
---

[ English | German ]

JAP und Strafverfolgung

Log-Dateien beim Anonymisierungsdienst

Der Gesetzgeber zwingt einen Anbieter von TK-Dienstleistungen dazu, Daten, die er sowieso speichert, für die Strafverfolgung herauszugeben.

Rückwirkende Aufdeckung von Verbindungen durch die Mix-Kaskaden

Eine rückwirkende Aufdeckung ist im Allgemeinen nahezu unmöglich: Wenn ein sogenannter Bedarfsträger die nachträgliche Aufdeckung einer Verbindung wünscht, muss er alle eingehenden und ausgehenden Nachrichten aller Mixe aufzeichnen und dem jeweiligen Mix zur Deanonymisierung vorlegen. Dies hätte allerdings nur Sinn, solange der öffentliche Schlüssel des Mix noch gültig ist. Nach einem Schlüsselwechsel kann selbst der Mix die alten Nachrichten nicht mehr entschlüsseln, da der private Schlüssel vernichtet wird. Im derzeitigen Zustand ist dies noch nicht implementiert, allerdings kann auf den temporär im Hauptspeicher liegenden Schlüssel nicht einmal der Betreiber selbst zugreifen. Wie oft der öffentliche Schlüssel gewechselt wird, hängt vom Mix-Betreiber ab. Im Endausbau des Systems kann dies alle paar Stunden geschehen.

Wichtig: Auf Grund der Vorratsdatenspeicherung können einzelne Mixe verpflichtet sein, Daten zu speichern, die eine rückwirkende Aufdeckung erleichtern können.

Überwachung zukünftiger Verbindungen durch die Mix-Kaskaden

Eine Überwachung zukünftiger Verbindungen setzt voraus, dass jeder Mix die Ein-Ausgabe-Zuordnung einer bestimmten Nachricht sofort online mitprotokolliert. Es wird die zu enttarnende Verbindung markiert. Dadurch kann unter Mitarbeit aller Mixe die Nachricht deanonymisiert werden. Diese Markierung kann lediglich von den beteiligten Mixen erkannt werden. Die Funktionsweise ähnelt der der Fangschaltung im Telefonnetz. Auf diese Weise ist es möglich, die Zugriffe auf eine bestimmte Webadresse zu protokollieren.

Die aktuelle Version der Mix-Software enthält eine entsprechende Strafverfolgungsfunktion, die dies erlaubt. Zur Aufdeckung einer Verbindung ist auch bei Aktivierung dieser Funktion die Mitarbeit aller Mix-Betreiber erforderlich. Momentan wird an einer möglichst datenschutzfreundlichen Überwachung gearbeitet.

Erfahrungen des Projektes "AN.ON" im Bereich Strafverfolgung

Überwachungsstatistik 2006

2006 gab es eine einzige gerichtliche Überwachungsanordnung, die an einzelne Mixbetreiber gerichtet war. Sie betraf wenige genauer spezifizierte Internetseiten. Die Überwachung wurde mit Auslauf der Anordnung nach einem Monat wieder abgeschaltet.

zurück

 

Download

Stabile Version
00.19.001


Beta-Version
00.19.015


InfoService

Status der verfügbaren AN.ON-Dienste und Informationen über diese.


Aktuell / News

Einschränkungen bei den Dresden (JAP) Anonymiserungsservern
Nach reiflicher Überlegung haben wir uns entschlossen, die Downloadmöglichkeiten über die Dresden (JAP) Mixe etwas zu beschränken, um eine fairere Nutzung der knappen Ressourcen unserer Server für alle Nutzer zu ermöglichen, die einfach "normal" im Web surfen wollen. mehr...

 
---