Encrypted Web Surfing

At present, most websites are only available in unencrpyted form. That means that all data is transferred in plain text and is readable by any eavesdropper. This is also true for personal or secret information which is entered into a form field on a website, including passwords.

One alternative is the encryption of sent data. Encrypted data can only be decrypted by the receiver. An eavesdropper only sees random gibberish.

Whether or not encryption is being used can usually be determined by a symbol in the status bar and the bottom of the browser window. The symbol is usually a small padlock which is closed for "encrypted" or open for "not-encrypted". In some browsers the symbol is a key which is broken for "not-encrypted" and whole for "encrypted".

One should take care that a 128-bit key is used for encryption. Older web browsers only supported 40-bit or 56-bit encryption which is easily cracked.

Info: If you click on the encryption symbol, you can get more information about the type of encryption, including the length of the key. In Internet Explorer, the key length is also displayed under "help-info" on the menu bar. If the key length is too short, you should download a newer version of the web browser.

Info:JAP and Encryption...

back

 

Download

Stable Version
00.20.001


Beta Version
00.20.002


InfoService

Status of available AN.ON services and information about them.


Aktuell / News

Restrictions for the Dresden (JAP) anonymisation servers
After careful consideration we have decided to restrict the size of downloads over the Dresden (JAP) mixes a little. The reason is to allow a more fair use of scarce resources of our servers especially for users who simply want to surf the Web. more...

 

 
---

Verschlüsseltes Websurfen

Die meisten Webseiten können heutzutage nur unverschlüsselt abgerufen werden. Das bedeutet, dass alle übertragenen Daten auf dem Hin- und Rückweg im Klartext also für jeden Lauscher lesbar gesendet werden. Dies gilt auch für alle persönlichen oder geheimen Informationen, die Sie in Formularfelder auf den Webseiten eintragen - auch für Passwörter.

Eine Alternative ist die Verschlüsselung der übertragenen Daten. Verschlüsselte Daten kann nur noch der eigentliche Empfänger wieder entschlüsseln - ein Lauscher sieht nur einen wirren Buchstabensalat.

Ob Verschlüsselung verwendet wird, erkennen Sie normalerweise anhand eines Symbols am unteren Rand des Browserfensters. Beim Internet-Explorer ist dies ein kleines Vorhängeschloß. Bei Netscape wird ein Schlüssel angezeigt, der bei unverschlüsselten Verbindungen zerbrochen ist.

Sie sollten darauf achten, dass für die Verschlüsselung ein 128 Bit Schlüssel verwendet wird - ältere Webbrowser unterstützen mitunter nur eine 40 Bit-Verschlüsselung, welche aber zu leicht zu brechen ist.

Info: Wenn Sie mit dem Mauszeiger das Verschlüsselungs-Symbol berühren oder anklicken wird u.a. die Schlüssellänge angezeigt. Ggf. sollten Sie sich eine neuere Version des Webbrowsers herunterladen.

Info: JAP und Verschlüsselung ...

zurück

 

Download

Stabile Version
00.20.001


Beta-Version
00.20.002


InfoService

Status der verfügbaren AN.ON-Dienste und Informationen über diese.


Aktuell / News

Einschränkungen bei den Dresden (JAP) Anonymiserungsservern
Nach reiflicher Überlegung haben wir uns entschlossen, die Downloadmöglichkeiten über die Dresden (JAP) Mixe etwas zu beschränken, um eine fairere Nutzung der knappen Ressourcen unserer Server für alle Nutzer zu ermöglichen, die einfach "normal" im Web surfen wollen. mehr...

 
---